Six WSSU Professors Named to Top 20 Lists

May 24, 2013

Six professors at Winston-Salem State University (WSSU) have been named to top 20 lists of professors in North Carolina by and Online Schools North Carolina based on recognition received for excellence.

Dr. Azeez Aileru, a professor who serves as director of the WSSU's Biomedical Research Infrastructure Center, and Dr. Charles Ebert, assistant professor of chemistry, were both listed among the Top 20 Science and Technology Professors in the state.  Dr. Dennis Sherrod, a professor who holds the Forsyth Medical Center Endowed chair of Recruitment and Retention in the Division of Nursing, was named to the Top 20 Medical and Nursing Professors list.  Three professors were included among the Top 20 Women Professors in North Carolina.  They are Dr. Dwedor M. Ford, coordinator of the virtual writing lab; Dr. Megan Edwards, associate professor in occupational therapy; and Dr. Yolanda Edwards, chair and program coordinator for the master’s program in rehabilitation counseling.

Aileru has spent more than 15 years in neuroscience and cardiovascular disease research with an emphasis on examining racially linked health disparities.  He was honored last year by the N. C. Biotechnology Center with an award for excellence in the area of biotechnology research and development, as well as his collaborative efforts among area universities.

In addition to his work as an educator, Ebert has also received a grant from the National Science Foundation for a research project to improve the understanding of peripheral nerve regeneration.  He is investigating whether keratin isolated from human hair may support the repairing of damaged nerves.

Sherrod, who joined WSSU in 2001, has more than 30 years of nursing and nurse educator experience, as well as over a decade of recruitment and rent ion expertise.  He also recently was selected by the Board of governors of the University of North Carolina to receive one of the 19th Annual Awards for Excellence in Teaching.

One of three people selected for a scholarship to attend the International Writing Centers Association's 2012 Summer Institute, Ford teaches writing at WSSU. She has a strong commitment to encouraging the use of computers for writing, giving the students the opportunity to build technology competencies.

Megan Edwards was awarded the 2012 Faculty of Distinction Award for her outstanding contributions to the WSSU occupational therapy program.  The award, which is selected by graduating students, recognizes individual faculty for a sustained performance of excellence as a teacher.
Yolanda Edwards received the Sylvia Walker Education Award from the National Association of Multicultural Rehabilitations Concerns, the division of the National Rehabilitation Association that promotes ethical and state-of-the-art practices in rehabilitation.  She was recognized for her innovative curriculum developments that have increased student certification as rehabilitation counselors. is a nonprofit organization that builds free, open source tools to increase accessibility to educational information and provides information on alternative post-secondary education options.

Return to News Listing

Winston-Salem State University

601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Winston-Salem, NC 27110

Phone: (336) 750-2000

Follow WSSU on FacebookFollow WSSU on TwitterWSSU is on Youtube
WSSU Photos on FlickrRamPages BlogWSSU is on Instagram
Copyright © 2016 Winston-Salem State University