WINSTON-SALEM STATE UNIVERSITY MINUTES OF THE CALLED MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TUESDAY, May 8, 2014 12:00 p.m.

Chairman Miller called the meeting to order.

ROLL CALL

Members present via teleconference: Mrs. Debra Miller, Dr. Vivian Burke, Dr. Karen McNeil-Miller, Mr. Pradeep Sharma, Mr. Mike Shortt, Mr. Osyris Uqoezwa, Mr. Charles Wallington and Mr. Charles Wright.

Members absent: Mr. Bryant Bell, Mr. Martin Davis, Mrs. Sue Henderson, Mr. Victor Johnson and Mr. Keith Vaughan,

Staff in attendance: Dr. Brenda Allen (Provost) and Mrs. RaVonda Dalton-Rann.

Mr. Wright moved and Mr. Sharma seconded the motion to go into closed session. The motion passed.

A request to confer two honorary degrees during the 2014 Commencement Ceremony was presented by Provost Allen for approval by the board.

Dr. Burke moved and Dr. McNeil-Miller seconded the motion to approve that an honorary degree be given to the commencement speaker, Mr. Steve Pemberton. The motion passed.

Mr. Wallington moved and Mr. Johnson seconded the motion to approve that an honorary degree be given to Chancellor Donald Reaves. The motion passed. One member of the board recommended that the honorary degree be awarded after he leaves office.

Dr. McNeil-Miller moved and Mr. Johnson seconded the motion to come out of closed session.

Mr. Wright moved and Mr. Johnson seconded the motion to adopt the actions taken in executive session. The motion passed.

PUBLIC STATEMENT REGARDING ACTIONS TAKEN IN EXECUTIVE SESSION

Chairman Miller reported that while in executive session, the board approved the conferral of two honorary degrees during the 2014 Commencement Ceremony.

The meeting was adjourned by consensus.

Respectfully submitted,

RaVonda Dalton-Rann

RaVonda Dalton-Rann, Assistant Secretary